It may have been freezing and not any golf or putting, but that did not stop 54 Verde Sputters and two guests from coming to our luncheon on Monday, January 8. Upon arriving, Sputters mingled with each other before getting down to business and the fun of the program. Committee members were Debbie Flato, Carolyn McLean, Lavonne Ashwood and Deborah Gryniewicz. They did a great job on the table decorations and presenting the program. Lottery tickets were at each place setting, along with hats and noisemakers.

Helen Bellacqua opened the meeting welcoming us to a new and exciting year to come. Donna Bujnovsky presented Stars to Laurie Berkley and Debbie Van Berkom for their low scores of 37. Helen read a letter from the Tri-Community Food Bank thanking us for the toys and the $670 cash donation and a special Shout Out to Marilyn Palatas and Barb Rempel for their delivery assistance. Helen was presented with extra lottery tickets for being so lucky to have a second term added to her tenure.

Lunch was chicken skewers on rice that was very delicious. The HOA-1 Club always seems to do an outstanding job on the food and the service for our luncheon meetings. Debbie Flato won the free lunch.

Deborah G. led the program themed “In with the New (members) and Renew the Old (longtime members)”. She presented questions to the new members about the history of Verde Sputters such as who started and when. The founder was Marj Cantrell in 1992, and at that time, there were only eight members. Next, was the Renew. When Sputters first started, the men golfers did not like it and would mess up their putting course, etc. until Mr. Robson stepped in. Judy Anick, who has been a member for 29 years, Ginny Porteous and Karen Martin talked about their experiences and some of the social outings they used to do, in addition to just sputting. Such outings as a golf cart rally, white elephant party, covered dish dinners at Activity Center, $6 luncheons in the Coyote Room, Sputting in the Dining Room were just a few of the social events. Those were good ole days!

The ten dollar cash award went to last birthday member in 2023 (Jean Matheson), the newest 2024 birthday recipient, Carolyn McLean; the President longest time from inception, Karen Martin; the last person to join in 2023, Carol Asechliman; and the longest member, Chris McFadden, who joined in 1992.

Happy Birthday to all our lovely January ladies: Carolyn McLean, Donna McPherson, Cheri King, Della Simm, Sue Ryan and Dee Zoline.

So, what are you waiting for? Call Lydia O’Conner at (507) 421-5640 or send her an email at and come meet some special ladies, join the fun, make new friends and only have to putt about an hour, not drag around the golf course for four-plus hours.

See ya there!

Subscribe to stay connected to Tucson. A subscription helps you access more of the local stories that keep you connected to the community.